This story requires a good amount of research. Here is compiled a list of the sources I have compiled so far. As ridiculous as this sounds, I don’t recommend reading through this unless you’re caught up, because it can lead to mild spoilers. For example, if there was a chapter where a character, say, has a leg amputated, and you haven’t read that, but you see a citation in here for an article called ‘how to amputate a leg,’ (I wonder if that article really exists…) then you’ll know that at some point someone must get a leg amputated.

A day in the life of a Victorian pharmacist: Chemist+Druggist. A day in the life of a Victorian pharmacist | Chemist+Druggist. (n.d.). https://www.chemistanddruggist.co.uk/content/day-life-victorian-pharmacist.

Smith, I. (2016, October 4). Photo collection of stores from the 1800s in the USA & England. The Vintage News. https://www.thevintagenews.com/2015/12/21/41923/.

Victorian Durham: health and medicine for the poor. (n.d.). https://community.dur.ac.uk/4schools.resources/victoriandurham/health2.html.

Waite, K. (2016, January 13). Victorian Medicine. Simple History. https://simplehistory.co.uk/victorian-medicine/.

WritingwColor. (n.d.). Writing With Color. https://writingwithcolor.tumblr.com/.

1860-1869. Fashion History Timeline. (2019, December 27). https://fashionhistory.fitnyc.edu/1860-1869/.

“Bipolar Disorder in Children and Teens.” National Institute of Mental Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/publications/bipolar-disorder-in-children-and-teens/#pub3.

“Calling Cards and Visiting Cards: A Brief History.” Hoban Cards, hobancards.com/blogs/thoughts-and-curiosities/calling-cards-and-visiting-cards-brief-history.

Erowid Opium Vault, http://www.erowid.org/chemicals/opium/opium.shtml.

“Illegitimacy: The Shameful Secret.” The Guardian, Guardian News and Media, 14 Apr. 2007, http://www.theguardian.com/news/2007/apr/14/guardianspecial4.guardianspecial215.

Jones, David. “How Much Time Do You Have to Escape a House Fire? It’s Much Less than You Think.” Buyers Ask, Buyers Ask, 15 July 2021, buyersask.com/interior/alarms/how-much-time-do-you-have-to-escape-a-house-fire-its-much-less-than-you-think/.

June, Laura. “How to Deliver a Baby (If You Absolutely Have to).” The Cut, The Cut, 1 Mar. 2016, http://www.thecut.com/2016/03/how-to-deliver-a-baby.html.

Lewis, Meriwether, et al. “Books That SHAPED AMERICA 1800 to 1850.” Library of Congress, 25 June 2012, http://www.loc.gov/exhibits/books-that-shaped-america/1800-to-1850.html.

“Masquerade Balls: A History.” WardrobeShop, 17 Sept. 2020, http://www.wardrobeshop.com/blogs/vintage-style-fashion/masquerade-balls-a-history.

McNamara, Robert. “How Newspapers Grew into Major Institutions in 19th Century America.” ThoughtCo, http://www.thoughtco.com/history-of-newspapers-in-america-4097503.

Mulvihill, Keith. “What Really Happens in a House Fire.” This Old House, This Old House, 23 June 2020, http://www.thisoldhouse.com/home-safety/21018283/what-really-happens-in-a-house-fire.

Nespor, Cassie. “Medical Treatments in the Late 19th Century.” Melnick Medical Museum, 30 Apr. 2015, melnickmedicalmuseum.com/2013/03/27/19ctreatment/.

“Nimh ” Bipolar Disorder.” National Institute of Mental Health, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/topics/bipolar-disorder/#:~:text=Bipolar%20disorder%20.

“Oberon’s Family.” Writing in Margins, writinginmargins.weebly.com/home/oberons-family.

“Opiate Symptoms and Warning Signs.” Addiction Center, 31 Aug. 2021, http://www.addictioncenter.com/opiates/symptoms-signs/.

“Pistols at Dawn: Duelling in the Victorian Age.” HistoryExtra, 25 June 2021, http://www.historyextra.com/period/victorian/pistols-at-dawn-duelling-in-the-victorian-age/.

“So, What Did Whalers Really Eat?” The Whaling Museum, http://www.cshwhalingmuseum.org/blog/so-what-did-whalers-really-eat.

“Top 200 Most Popular Names in England and Wales in 1860.” British Baby Names, http://www.britishbabynames.com/blog/2015/04/top-200-most-popular-names-in-england-and-wales-in-1860.html.

You Are Being Redirected…, ctstatelibrary.org/access-services/nicknames/.

The website Fashion History Timeline is especially useful for both writing and drawing.

Note that this list is probably incomplete. I only started keeping track of sources halfway through writing the first part.